Coming Clean

So a while ago, actually, close to a year ago, someone came to me asking about a double wedding ring quilt. It would be for their bride, as a wedding gift. I was thrilled to do it, and immediately started collecting fabric.

The catch to this story, and the part I am now ‘coming clean’ about, is that the double wedding ring quilt was for my best friend, who a few months later came asking me to create a quilt for her fiance.

Yes, you guessed it. The Periodic Table Quilt I recently posted about, is actually part of a set… Unintentionally, of course. So, for MONTHS, I juggled two quilts, for one couple. And for people I am really close to. The phone calls and messages were crazy. And I knew at some point I was going to slip up.

Well, turns out I am really good at keeping secrets. Neither party knew about their quilt, until it was gifted to them. Of course there were plenty of funny conversations between my mom and I (she was one of the few who knew the whole story) as I tried to juggle these two projects.

Now that you know the general story- I imagine you want to know more about the Double Wedding Ring Quilt.

The groom’s favorite color is blue, and the bride’s favorite color is orange. So this quilt would be a Scrap Double Wedding Ring Quilt, using those two colors, with a base color of white. Its dimensions are aprox. 79″ x 89″, perfect for a full size bed.

However, it wasn’t at the wave of a magic wand from the fairy godmother that this quilt became reality. No it started as a mass of tiny little pieces, divided up into Ziploc bags.

And all these pieces left behind quite a mess in my scrap basket…

But eventually all the little pieces became this-

Then it was this-

And finally, this-

And for something fun, I even listed some of the stats for the quilt-

And the final wrap up-

So there it is, the final product. The couple loves it, and the Periodic Table Quilt, and they have a wonderful story to tell as well.

2 thoughts on “Coming Clean

  1. Your quilt is very beautiful. It looks very well made. I had a lot of trouble making one for my son and his wife.

    They were both in the Marines, so I used the Marine colors, but since I had such a short notice I made a small quilt. It was only 4 columns and five rows, which came out the size of a twin bed.

    • I won’t lie… I had a hard time with it too! Curves are just so very different and extremely difficult. And if you did the scrap version, you add all the complications that come with tons and tons of tiny little pieces.

      I loved the opportunity to make this for them, but I think I learned my lesson- I doubt I will make another. At least for a very long time!

Leave a Reply

