Mississippi

There is one view that signifies going home, and triggers old memories of hot and sticky summers-

ms bridge 1

Crossing this bridge means I am almost home. A place where you spend mornings listening to the birds chirp, lunch with a couple of deer, afternoons sitting on the porch swing, and nights listening to the crickets and frogs.  It is a slower pace, a time when you can relax and enjoy the people you are around.

When I cross this bridge a flood of images come to my mind- and usually there are some beautiful ones right in front of me…

MS sunset

Nothing better than a Mississippi sunset…

Unless you see a Mississippi sunrise…

MS sunrise

MS Sunrise 2

Sorry Texans- but you just don’t see these colors out here in central Texas.

*I can’t take credit for the above pictures. I am always driving and should I attempt to take photos like these, you would more likely see pictures of a car submurged in water.

3 thoughts on “Mississippi

  1. As much as I long to leave the state of MS and go find new adventures elsewhere, every time I go on a trip and come back home, this place always gets to me. The way the humidity hits my face when exiting a freezing airport is intoxicating. Mississippi and I have a love/hate relationship…

  2. Rachel,

    I know exactly what you mean. I was dying to leave, and now I live for the moments I get to come back. There is beauty there that you will see no where else.

    And that moment when you get hit with humidity? There is nothing else like it. It’s like a warm hug after being gone for so long.

  3. I know this is a late comment, but I just ran across this post… and I love it! I’m from Mississippi, and I can completely relate to your descriptions. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

