My 9/11 reality check

Everyone remembers where they were on September 11, 2001. We really will never forget. However, as the years pass it is easier to forget the gravity of the situation and the repercusions that we still experience today.

This morning when I woke up I acknowledged what day it was, and the significance; but I had errands to run, important things to do, so I didn’t dwell on it. Ultimately didn’t give it half the attention it deserved.

One stop I had to make was Hobby Lobby, needed some new batting for a quilt that will be in the store soon! And I was tired, sweaty, frustrated at the horribly sticky weather and the long lines. Then I noticed the person in front of me.

There was an older gentleman, very quiet and reserved. In one hand he held a shadow box, the other held a folded flag. The creases were perfect, surely the work of a well trained soldier. It was in this moment, as I stood behind the quiet gentleman, that I truly remembered September 11, 2001.

This man, was honoring one of the last remnants of a loved one. Son, daughter? Either way, it was heartbreaking to realize the significance of this moment.

So today, don’t let your busy schedule get in the way of remembering the events on September 11, 2001. We are still dealing with it 8 years later.

Remembering,

The Southern Belle

One thought on “My 9/11 reality check

Leave a Reply

