Something I Am Not

First, I should apologize for being so absent over the past week. Things were very busy and something had to go. Then, I decided to make a quick trip home to recharge my batteries. So far I am feeling much more rested, so the trip has done its job. And I should be back now with regular posts! And plenty to talk about!

On to this post. There have been several moments over the past few weeks that have defined me, in one way or another. I am not going to get into specifics, I don’t think that is necessary. However, I do believe it is important to mention that over time people change. And I admit, that change has been a theme in my life over the past 5 years. So many things have happened, new experiences, new friends, and new ideas that have challenged me. 

Inevitably, there are those who believe that no matter how much time has passed that you are still the same person. And that is just not the case. It is quite sad to see this, especially when many of the changes are obvious. Something even worse, is when others build up this person in their mind that is nothing like the real thing. And inevitably, they end up disappointed because you don’t live up to the person they have created in their mind.

I think it is safe to say that we have all had this experience at one point or another. And I am certainly not exempt from this. I just never realized how hard it would be.

I am not the same person I was 5 years ago. I would like to think that the changes have been good ones, and that I have drastically improved over this time period. I feel like I have more of an open mind, and have developed more patience. At the same time I have changed my stance on several issues, and have begun to question things in a more serious manner.

Me 5 years ago- That is something I am not.

Leave a Reply

